Grants & Awards


Phillips, B., Johnson, R. P., Lanier, M., Carroll, B., Wooten, C. B., Holder, A., Eley, P., Smith-Burton, K., Hudson, T. (Principal), Gillis-Olion, M. F. (Co-Principal), “Academic Affairs–Student Success in the College of Education,” Sponsored by Academic Affairs, Federal, $188,000.00. (October 1, 2018 – September 30, 2022). Currently Under Review.

Smith Gray, J. D. (Co-Principal), Holder, A. J. (Principal), “Literacy Artistic Expressions Club,” Sponsored by Junior League of Fayetteville, Local, $11,000.00. (November 17, 2017 – April 1, 2019). Not funded.

Shamberger, C., Leggett, P.,  Holder, A., Wooten, C. “North Carolina State Improvement Project Partnership Grant,” Sponsored by NC SIP, $10,000. (November 2017 – November 2018). Funded.

Holder, A., “Funds for Research and Retention,” Fayetteville State University, $2,104.00. (January 2018 – June 2018). Funded.

Holder, A., “FSU Digital Resources Fellows Program,” Sponsored by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, $1000.00 (January 5, 2018 – May 11, 2018). Funded.

Holder, A. (Co-Principal), Annetta, L. (Principal), “Cyberlearning for Work at the Human-Technology Frontier,” Sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF), $750,000. (January 2018-January 2021). Not funded.


Finalist for the Wynton H. Hadley Excellence in Teaching (3 student nominations)

College of Education.

April 20, 2018

Presidential Award

North Carolina Reading Association (NCRA)

February 27, 2018

Funds for Retention and Research Recipient

December 12, 2017

Digital Resources Fellow

Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

January 5, 2018

Named President of the North Carolina Association of College Professors of Reading (NCACPR)

March 19, 2018